Skip navigation

Morning internets. Nay, Good morning internets. Nay, Fantastic morning internets! I know, you’re thinking, what on earth has made you so happy on a bloody Monday? Well, it’s not because it’s a Monday that I’m so happy (trust me, it ain’t), no that’s not it. It’s because on Saturday night, I did the most satisfying thing I have ever done in my many years of playing World of Warcraft. I finally got my green fel fire on my warlock! Wooooooooo!!! Let me avail you of the tale of my journey.

Twas a quiet Saturday night, the woman of the house was at dinner and I was alone with my PC. I had learnt that in 6.0 the title ‘of the Black Harvest’ would not be around for warlocks post patch, only obtainable by those that did it pre 6.0. Tis true this spurned me on, that and a friend’s similar quest for emerald embers. I got my drums and potions and food and flew to the Black Temple to begin in earnest. The adventure had begun. Upon the third hour of attempts, I was frustrated to say the least. Let me elaborate in haiku:

 

My lock died again,

I punch my chair really hard,

Now my knuckle hurts.

 

So you can see that an intermission was certainly in order. I get up and walk away from the PC, get myself some dinner and watch some funny youtube videos. My humours and now in check and I feel confident to continue the quest. After gathering up some more potions, food and other knick-knacks, I resumed the quest for the coveted fel flame. I knew that if I could just get past the 2nd felhunter phase, it would be in the proverbial bag. The phases are exactly the same and yet the second one is the one that I always end up floundering on. But I pressed on, ever determined to get past it and my prize at the end.

After another death by [insert either dots, chaos bolt, felhunter or pit lord death here], I once again, repaired at my trusty rusty anvil (I love that lil fella), at my food, popped my potions and got ready for another fight. 1st imps, done, 1st felhunters, done, doom lord, done, 2nd imps…done, 2nd felhunters…holy shit DONE! 2nd doom lord…done! Then, in my excitement, tragedy strikes! Managing to get past the 2nd felhunters puts me into a state of euphoria and I stop paying attention to my health…and I die. But…as with many death before, I have learnt that the silly pit lord will stick around and the fight will not let me release to rez until I dismiss him. But this, oh ho ho, this it is different, Ebonlocke is so close to death, I tell my pit lord to press the attack, finish him off! More felflame! He’s casting Cataclysm? Charge him then MOAR felflame! What is this? He is defeated?! It cannot be! Impossible! But it is done! The scripted event plays out before my broken corpse on the ground. I release and run back over, eager to see that it was not just a deluded dream of my fevered mind. Tis the truth! I have done it! THE GREEN FIRE IS MINE!!!

And thus, the adventure was at an end and the land was once again in balance and all was right with the world…of warcraft.     >.>

 

p.s. there may have been several victory laps of me running around the house like a soccer player cheering and hollering.

Leave a comment