Skip navigation

After finishing my Bioshock 2 play through for the fourth time (I think give or take, not counting the DLC.) the other day and doing my WoW dailies I found myself in that position of being in a lull and having nothing to do. And as such, I turned to my reliable friend, Steam. I thought I would partake in a FPS/shooter so I hit up the store and opened the genre dropdown box and much to my shock I found out there was no FPS or shooter option. There was a RPG option. There was a RTS option. Yet strangely no FPS option, odd. Only something labelled vaguely as ‘Action’. – which could encompass pretty much anything. Alas, I took my chances and counted my lucky charms and said a quick prayer to the notoriously fickle Gaming Gods and selected the Action option and plunged into search feature. So there I was, going through the search results (which thankfully included FPS titles) and eventually the pages of results began to filter further and further away from FPS and more into ‘Action-y related-ish results’.

As is the norm, there were quite a few zombie themed titles and a couple horror-esque (sorry, I just really wanted to use that term) titles but what I inexplicably found myself drawn to was a small title named ‘Zombie Driver’. Now, from that title, there could be several variations of what it would include, ie, Zombies driving cars and racing each other, running over zombies whilst driving, a raceway that’s full of zombies, etc etc. Having my interests piqued, I opened it up and watched the trailer and instantly I was hooked. Cars of various types with guns that run and gun down zombies in a post-apocalyptic city with flamethrowers, railguns, missiles and miniguns. Could it be any better? I would later on find out it could be. Basically, you drive around, pickups survivors, get cash, do up your car with more guns and armour (for which each level you get, more steel plates appear on your car and massive bull-bars and reinforced spikes and windows, a nice touch that I like). Working my way through the levels, I happened across one where I have to save the manager of a bus depot and much to my ecstatic glee and subsequent schoolgirl squeal, I obtained the keys to a BUS! Yes, one of the more awesome zombie killing four wheeled vehicles (tracked ones like tanks and steamrollers not counting) that you can find. As soon as I got it, I maxed out the Speed, Armour and Ramming stats. The next level, I was ready to hit the streets in my four wheeled, 10 tonne steel-plated zombie crushing death machine. And oh! what an euphoric feeling it was. Driving at full speed down one of the highways, the sun glinting off my solid steel plates welded to the flanks and the massive bloodied spikes protruding from the front and rear supplemented by the iron bar reinforced windshield, ploughing through zombie crowds like they were paper dolls, their collective gore christening my new deathmobile with a nice coat of red ‘paint’ (makes it go faster!) and torching anything else that survived with my roof mounted flamethrower of FIERY DOOM!

So all this zombie killing fun for the cost of a bottle of coke, for less than the cost of a pie, all this fun for only $2.50. Awesome right? Hell, I would have paid $5 even! Thank you very much Steam!

If you can think of an even better zombie killing deathmobile than a steel plated bus, leave a comment and let me know.

One Comment

  1. hey, great blog! love it 🙂


Leave a comment